Who we are

In its early years, the Foundation was operated entirely by volunteers. In December 2004, in order to respond to the growth of the organisation, the Board of Trustees took the decision to recruit a small team of paid staff. As the organisation has continued to expand, the staff team at the Foundation has increased to five people, some full time and some part time. All other people involved continue to work on a voluntary basis for the Foundation.

The President, Patrons, Trustees and Chair of the Foundation are all volunteers. They are actively involved in promoting the work of the Foundation, in business planning, fundraising, and performance management. They also take a lead in the annual selection of students who receive bursaries. The list below shows the people involved with the Foundation.


Baroness Helena Kennedy QC

Founder and Vice President:

Dr Ann Limb CBE DL

Chair of Trustees

Dr Julie Mills OBE

Staff Team:

Shahida Aslam, Operations Manager


Al Coates
Dr Vicky Duckworth
John Haigh
Paul Bonner Hughes
Ian Kernohan
Jacqui Mace
Karen Mitchell



Ade Adepitan MBE
Prof Dame Jocelyn Bell Burnell DBE
The Rt Hon Lord Blunkett
The Rt Hon Lord Bragg
Dame Julia Cleverdon CVO CBE
Dame Judi Dench CH DBE
The Rt Hon Iain Duncan Smith MP
Joanna Lumley OBE
Baroness McIntosh
Rabbi The Rt Hon Baroness Neuberger DBE
The Lord Ouseley
Baroness Perry
The Lord Puttnam CBE FRSA
Dame Heather Rabbatts DBE
Baroness Gail Rebuck DBE
Jack Romain
Baroness Walmsley
Dame Harriet Walter DBE
The Rt Hon Lord Willetts 

Scotland Patron

Sir Andrew Cubie CBE FRSE
Denise Mina

Wales Patron

The Rt Hon Lord Kinnock

CHARITY NUMBER 1074025 - Website by Triad